Following our earlier blog which set out the various short-selling restrictions that regulators have introduced globally in response to the COVD-19 pandemic, the Finanzmarktaufsicht of Austria, the Financial Securities and Markets Authority of Belgium, the Autorité des Marchés Financiers of France, the Hellenic Capital Market Commission of Greece and the Comisión Nacional del Mercado de Valores of Spain have all renewed restrictions on short-selling that were due to expire in April. The renewed restrictions will remain in place until 18 May 2020, with the possibility of a further renewal in due course.

The restrictions will cover all shares admitted to trading on the relevant trading venues for which the above Member State competent authorities are the relevant competent authority, as well as to all related instruments relevant for the calculation of the net short position.