On 16 November 2018, the Financial Stability Board (FSB) published its 2018 list of global systemically important banks (G-SIBs)

The overall number of G-SIBs has fallen from 30 to 29, with the Royal Bank of Scotland and Nordea being removed, and Groupe BPCE being added to the list. The ‘buckets’ to which each bank has been allocated determines the higher capital buffer requirements that will apply to each G-SIB from 1 January 2020.

A new list of G-SIBs will next be published by the FSB in November 2019.