HM Treasury has announced that nine major banks have launched fee-free basic bank accounts. The accounts will be available from January 1, 2016 and be open to anyone who does not already have a bank account, is ineligible for a standard current account or who cannot use their existing account due to financial difficulty.

View Fee free bank accounts launched, 27 December 2015