On 2 May 2023, the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) announced that it had recognised four new third country central counterparties (TC-CCPs), under Article 25 of the European Market Infrastructure Regulation (EMIR), bringing the total number of TC-CCPs recognised by ESMA to 39.

The newly recognised TC-CCPs are:

  • Bursa Malaysia Derivatives Clearing Berhad (Malaysia)
  • Taiwan Futures Exchange Corporation (Taiwan)
  • Camara de Riesgo Central de Contraparte de Colombia S.A. (Colombia)
  • Tel-Aviv Stock Exchange Clearing House Ltd (Israel)

The recognition of these four TC-CCPs follows the conclusion of standard Memoranda of Understanding between ESMA and their respective supervisory authorities, namely the Securities Commission Malaysia, the Financial Supervisory Commission Taiwan, the Superintendencia Financiera de Colombia and the Israel Securities Authority.

In the same announcement ESMA has also provided an update concerning the withdrawal of recognition of certain TC-CCPs. With effect from 30 April 2023, recognition has been withdrawn from the following six TC-CCPs:

  • The Clearing Corporation of India (CCIL), supervised by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI)
  • Indian Clearing Corporation Limited (ICCL), supervised by the Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI)
  • NSE Clearing Limited (NSCCL), supervised by SEBI
  • Multi Commodity Exchange Clearing (MCXCCL), supervised by SEBI
  • India International Clearing Corporation (IFSC) Limited (IICC), supervised by the International Financial Services Centre Authority (IFSCA)
  • NSE IFSC Clearing Corporation Ltd (NICCL), supervised by the IFSCA.