On 11 August 2022, the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) published a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) between itself and South Africa’s Financial Sector Conduct Authority, Prudential Authority and the South African Reserve Bank related to central counterparties (CCPs) established in South Africa.

By signing the MoU, the signatories affirm their willingness to cooperate and exchange information to proportionately fulfil their respective supervisory and regulatory responsibilities with respect to the CCPs established in South Africa that have applied or that may apply to the ESMA for recognition as third-country CCPs or that are already recognised by ESMA as third-country CCPs, pursuant to Article 25 of the European Market Infrastructure Regulation.