The European Central Bank (ECB) has published its final list of significant supervised entities and the list of less significant institutions for the purposes of the single supervisory mechanism (SSM).

The significant list of credit institutions (in part A of the document) lists the 120 institutions that the ECB will directly supervised from 4 November 2014. The list is made up of credit institutions, financial holding companies and mixed financial holding companies, as well as branches of credit institutions established in non-participating Member States accounting for almost 85% of total banking assets in the euro area. The ECB explains on its web page on the SSM that the assessment of the significance of an institution is based on:

  • the institution’s year-end figures (in the case of the current list, for 2013);
  • the total value of its assets;
  • the importance for the economy of the country in which it is located or the EU as a whole;
  • the scale of its cross-border activities; and
  • whether it has requested or received public financial assistance from the European Stability Mechanism or the European Financial Stability Facility.

The less significant credit institutions in the participating countries (listed in part B of the document) will continue to be supervised by national competent authorities under the overall oversight of the ECB. Composition of the lists will depend on the ECB’s regular assessment of the significance of institutions. The assessment will be performed at least once a year after the publication of an institution’s full year results.

View The list of significant supervised entities and the list of less significant institutions, 4 September 2014

View List of credit institutions, 4 September 2014