On 11 November 2020, the Financial Stability Board (FSB) issued a press release confirming the 2020 list of global systemically important banks (G-SIBs).

The list of G-SIBs is based on end-2019 data and the updated assessment methodology published by the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision in July 2013.

The overall number of G-SIBs remains 30.

Since the November 2012 update, the G-SIBs have been allocated to buckets corresponding to higher capital buffers that they are required to hold by national authorities in accordance with international standards. The capital buffer requirements for the G-SIBs identified in the annual update each November will apply to them as from January fourteen months later. The assignment of G-SIBs to the buckets, in the list now published, therefore determines the higher capital buffer requirements that will apply to each G-SIB from 1 January 2022.

A new list of G-SIBs will next be published in November 2021.